Favorite and Least Favorite Song

Finding my favorite song is a hard thing to do. I enjoy a lot of different genres, such as classical, jazz, indie, etc. Right now, one of my favorite songs is “Bankrupt on Selling” by Modest Mouse. It’s a simple song, nothing too complex. There’s no complicated chord progression, and the instrumentation is small, with just a few guitars and drums. This a contrast to what I usually listen too, as I am also a big fan of symphonic metal.

But I think it’s the song’s simplicity that makes it so good to me.  In terms of what the song is about, that is something I can write for quite some time about. As with most of Modest Mouse’s music, the meaning behind the lyrics is not obvious, and can be taken in many different ways.

I am not a big fan of modern classical music. The biggest composer that I dislike is Brian Ferneyhough. I understand that there are many people who like this type of music, but it doesn’t do anything for me. I need even just the slightest hint of a melody or accompaniment. A lot of this type of music simply sounds like noise to me.

Leave a Reply

